Postdoctoral Position Available at Argonne National Laboratory

Better ways to store energy are critical to becoming more energy efficient. One of the keys to advances in energy storage lies in both finding novel materials and in understanding how current and new materials function. The Northeastern Center for Chemical Energy Storage (NECCES) is an effort being led by Stony Brook University, and includes as partners Rutgers University, MIT, Binghamton University, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Argonne National Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, the University of Michigan, and the University of California at San Diego. The Center will support basic research in the design of the next generation of lithium-ion batteries (LiBs), which requires both the development of new chemistries and the fundamental understanding of the physical and chemical processes that occur in these complex systems.

The mission of the Center is to identify the key atomic-scale processes which govern electrode function in rechargeable batteries, over a wide range of time and length scales, via the development and use of novel characterization and theoretical tools, and to use this information to identify and design new battery systems. Four thrust areas have been established, two cross-cutting (diagnostics and theory), and two systems (intercalation and conversion reactions), in order to achieve the Center's goals.


This website is based on research funded primarily by the EFRC program of the US Department of Energy (DOE) under Award Number DE-SC0001294 with additional support provided by the New York State Office of Science, Technology and Academic Research (NYSTAR), and New York State Energy Research Development Authority (NYSERDA). Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of DoE, NYSTAR, or NYSERDA.

July 2014

Honoring Young Authors
Best paper published in JES for electrochemical science by a young author. Of note about the latest set of Young Author Award winners is that the paper came from a journal focus issue. The Norman Hackerman Young Author Award goes to Rahul Malik and Aziz Abdellahi. More

June 2013
SSRL (a directorate of the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) recently highlighted chemical imaging work performed by NECCES scientists at LBNL. More

April 2013
Prof. Clare Grey, FRS was awarded the 2013 GŁnther Laukien Medal at the 54th ENC conference in Asilomar, California. This award is for her innovative applications of solid-state Nuclear Magnetic Resonance to energy storage systems, in particular to lithium batteries. She has to a large extent created, by her own contributions, a flourishing new field of NMR with a great potential for future beneficial discoveries and applications. More

January 2013
The latest issue of Frontiers in Energy Research, the newsletter for Energy Frontier Research Centers, highlights research by NECCES scientists. More

December 2012
NECCES scientists recently developed methods of examining lithium-ion reactions in real-time with nano-scale (billionths of a meter) precision. “ We've opened a fundamentally new window into this popular technology,” said physicist and lead author Feng Wang. “The live, nano-scale imaging may help pave the way for developing longer-lasting, higher-capacity lithium-ion batteries. That means better consumer electronics, and the potential for large-scale, emission-free energy storage." More...

More News